BUZz: Top Nominees List for 30th International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA)‏

Monday, March 21, 2011

(Sonique Solutions) – The International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) is about to make a significant Milestone in the history of Caribbean and World Music, as the only music awards show to consistently acknowledge and give accolades to world music entertainers for thirty years. Martin’s International and Associates, in a special ceremony held at the House of Angostura in Port of Spain, Trinidad revealed to the world the 2010 nominees in the 30th IRAWMA anniversary awards ceremony carded to take place in Trinidad in May 2011.

Topping the list is Reggae music sensation Gyptian who is nominated in eight categories; followed by Trinidad and Tobago King of Soca, and recent winner of the Soca Monarch and Road March titles, Machel Montano who is nominated in seven categories. Also copping seven nods is Damian “Junior Gong” Marley, who has toured extensively with US Rapper Nas.

Reggae rhythm tag team Sly and Robbie received six nominations, while Dancehall star Vybz Kartel gained five. Other multiple nominees, includes: Jah Cure, Beenie Man, Elephant Man, I-Octane, JW and Blaze, Queen Ifrica, Shaggy, Rihanna, Nicki Minaj, Roy Cape, Romain Virgo, Tarrus Riley, Third World, Pitt Bull, Gramps Morgan, Kernel Roberts and Marcia Griffiths, among others.

The 2010 nominees were disclosed by, Ephraim Martin, President of Martin’s International and Associates and representatives from B-Mobile and Angostura. Caribbean and World Music fans throughout the globe can now select the winners by logging onto and voting for their best of 2010.

The 30th IRAWMA will be held on Saturday, May 28, 2011, at the National Academy of the Performing Arts (NAPA), in Port of Spain. On Sunday May 29th, a grand concert celebration of the nominees and winners will take place at the Queens Park Savannah entitled “Reggae meets Soca and Chutney”.

IRAWMA goes beyond the realm of simply awarding and acknowledging Reggae/Jamaican music. The celebrated ceremony also continues to recognize the wealth of regional (Caribbean) talent as evidenced by this year’s supreme stock of nominees comprising individuals and acts which represent the Caribbean, African and Latin American Diaspora.

The history making 30th IRAWMA anniversary is sponsored by T&T’s number one mobile network, B-Mobile and leading liquor distributor, Angostura; the Hyatt Regency hotel Trinidad, TrinJam Restaurant, and is supported by: The Trinidad and Tobago Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism, Ministry of Tourism and Tourism Development Company, Limited (TDC), Tobago House of Assembly (THA), Tobago Department of Tourism (TDT), Citadel, Ltd- Red 96.7 FM, 95.5FM, M.O.R.E. 104.7 FM, IRIE FM RADIO-Jamaica , CVM TV-Jamaica and others to be announced.

For further information on IRAWMA and to purchase tickets for this landmark occasion in Caribbean and World music visit


Post a Comment

powered by Blogger | WordPress by Newwpthemes | Converted by BloggerTheme | Blogger Templates